SSC Entrance Training

Staff Selection Commission - Combined Graduate Level Examination, often referred to as SSC is an examination conducted to recruit staff to various posts in ministries, departments and organisations of the Government of India. It is conducted by the Staff Selection Commission for selecting staff for various Group B and C positions.

The examination has several tiers which are conducted over different days with results posted after each tier. Previous exams also included an interview tier, but following a government order, interviews have been dispensed with for all non-gazetted posts in the central government as of 1 January 2016. A computer proficiency test or a skill test was also added as a tier for some posts

Tier I: Preliminary

The Tier I exam consists of a written objective multiple-choice exam with four sections, covering the subjects of:

  • General Intelligence and Reasoning
  • General Awareness
  • Quantitative Aptitude
  • English Comprehension

The exam was typically scored with maximum 50 Marks per section for a total of 200 Marks.The latest versions of this exam such as with 2018 have been conducted online. Based on results from Tier I, qualified candidates can then take the Tier II and Tier III exam

Tier II: Mains Exam

Also known as the Mains Exam, the Tier II exam consists of written objective multiple-choice exam, in four sections (also called "Papers"), covering the subjects of:

  • Quantitative Aptitude
  • English Language and Comprehension
  • Statistics
  • General Studies, which is subdivided into:
    • Finance & Accounting
    • Economics & Governance

The exam was typically scored with maximum 200 Marks per section. Most positions required the candidate to take only the first two sections (Paper-I: Quantitative Aptitude, Paper-II: English Language and Comprehension), but certain positions require the third or fourth section. The latest versions of this exam such as the 2018 edition have been conducted online.

Tier III exam: Descriptive Paper

A pen-and-paper "offline" exam in which candidates are to do writing in the form of essay writing and letter writing, and sometimes précis and application writing. The exam can be done in English or Hindi any language can be chosen as per candidate's choice.

Tier IV exam: Data Entry Skill Test / Computer Proficiency Test

In 2016, a fourth tier was added with two possible exams depending on the positions applied:

  • Data Entry Speed Test (DEST): candidates enter data at the rate of 2000 key presses in 15 minutes. This is mainly for positions such as Tax Assistant. (Central Excise & Income Tax)
  • Computer Proficiency Test (CPT): covering the topics of word processing, spreadsheets, and making slides

Other exams are required for certain positions. The types included:

  • Physical Endurance Test / Medical Examination for Central Police Organization (CPO)
  • SSC JE Practice Set

Upcoming plan of Rajinikanth foundation

Every year, the Rajinikanth foundation will provide high-quality training to 100 students from the poor and marginalized strata of a society free of cost to help them compete in the SSC Examination of the Staff selection commission. The selection of the candidate for the training shall be based on their 10th and 12th std marks along with the Entrance Exam based on the Math (10th std level), Logical Reasoning (10th std level) and General Knowledge (10th std level) according to NCERT syllabus. The selection of the 100 candidates will be based on the following criteria

S.No. Particulars % of Seats
1. Children from Below poverty line family. 20%
2. Children who will be first generation graduate. 20%
3. Children of slum Inhabitant. 10%
4. Children of economically constrained single parent or Orphan 14%
5. Children of farmers with less than 3 acres of land 16%
6. Children from General Category (top 10 boys and girls) 20%

The notification for the above course shall be released every year in the announcement column of the website.